Championship Sunday

The VISAA will crown three new champions in the Private school ranks today at Shepherd Stadium in Colonial Heights.
D3 Championship 12 noon
Southampton Academy 23-2 vs Fuqua School 16-4
The D3 title game starts at noon with VCC rivals Southampton Academy facing Fugua School in a rematch of the 2013 State semi-finals. Southampton Academy defeated Walsingham Academy behind a strong performance from pitcher Jacob Holland. Fuqua defeated North Cross to reach their second straight D3 championship game. Southampton Academy swept the season series winning 10-0 and 2-0. Fuqua is seeking their first VISAA State title while Southampton Academy won the D3 title in 2007.
D2 Championship game 3PM
Miller School 17-10 vs Steward School 17-5
Steward School will try to win their first ever VISAA State championship when they face Miller School on Sunday. The Spartans defeated defending State champion Atlantic Shores to reach the title game while Miller School defeated #1 seed Greenbrier Christian on Thursday to reach the title game. Freshman Nathan Gentry is expected to get the start for the Mavericks. Gentry has a 3-3 record and a 2.08 earned run average. Steward School counters with Virginia Tech commit Nic Enright who was a D2 All-State performer as a sophomore. Miller School won the D3 title in 2006. Miller and Steward faced each other twice with each team taking home a win.
D1 Championship game 6PM
Liberty Christian Academy 22-2 vs St Anne's-Belfield 16-8
Top seed Liberty Christian Academy has been at the top of the VISAA weekly rankings since the start of the season and they will try to remain on top when they face St Anne's-Belfield. The Bulldogs used two 2-run homeruns to beat Norfolk Academy to reach the championship game. St Anne's-Belfieldentered the tournament as the #7 seed but defeated Paul VI and Flint Hill to reach the title game. The Saints are expected to start sophomore Bobby Nicholsonwhile Liberty Christian Academywill likely go with ace Zach Clinton who has not loss a game this year. Thed schools faced each other earlier in the year with the Bulldogs winning 8-5. St Anne's-Belfield last won the title in 2011 while Liberty Christian tries for their first championship trophy.